Dr. Mirus argues homosexuality is an example of the “deficiencies, defects and disorders” that humans encounter

Dr. Jeff Mirus

Dr. Jeff Mirus, President of Catholic Culture

It is of course to no surprise that Catholic Culture features an article that attempts to paint homosexuality as a deficiency, defect, and disorder. Wait! Deficiency? Defect? Disorder? Are you serious Dr. Mirus? Lets look at each of these “descriptive” words in some depth:

A deficiency refers to a lack of something. What are gay and lesbian people lacking? Ah, that’s right equality. Okay, so far I agree with your observation.

A defect refers to a shortcoming, a lack, or imperfection. Yes, on this descriptive word regarding homosexuality, I must agree. I am sure that you apply this word as it applies to the anti-gay laws that exist in particular states and areas regarding the ability of GLBT people to adopt children or perhaps you are drawing attention to the lack of benefits that GLBT people have regarding visiting their spouse in the hospital.

Lastly, you claim that homosexuality is an example of a disorder. This word refers to a state of confusion. I hope you are not referring to my living room! On this application of a descriptive word, I must disagree. The only disorder I see, is your own confusion in somehow thinking that gay marriage will affect your own marriage (if you are indeed married) or society at large.

These explanations are far from what Dr. Mirus actually presents in his article on Catholic Culture. Mirus’s article is instead an attack on gay and lesbians that relentlessly argues that homosexuality is a deficiency, disorder, and a defect. It is a very sad day when a man that purports to be a Catholic, spends his time criticizing and condemning other human beings. It’s intriguing how Dr. Mirus thinks he is worthy to condemn those who were created as homosexuals by God in His image and likeness.

So what does Dr. Mirus present in his article? Here is a very telling excerpt:

He or she must not merely integrate, control and channel sexual inclinations, but must largely deny them altogether, not only in their physical expression, but also in a far broader range of affectivity which is conditioned even in small ways by sexual interplay: Heightened interest, a sense of romance, a special tenderness. It is true that a celibate priest must be very careful of what we might call sexually-tinged affectivity, on the altogether sound theory that one thing leads to another. But the person with persistent homosexual inclinations must suppress or redirect such inclinations to an even greater extent. This is an enormous challenge.

And here is an excerpt from the section where he tries to explain why homosexuality is disordered:

In a cultural vacuum, it ought to be relatively easy to understand intellectually that homosexual inclinations are disordered. It ought to be fairly clear that the sexual faculties are both naturally ordered to the propagation and preservation of the species and supernaturally ordered toward a kind of union among man, woman and child which mirrors the essential fecundity of Divine love. When one notices that one’s own sexual inclinations do not tend toward this sort of union and fecundity—or even this ability to reproduce—then one can perceive a very definite disorder in those inclinations. There may be something one can do to alter them; they may be a very confused set of inclinations which are bound up with past experiences or habits, and so amenable to change as one comes to terms with these experiences or habits. Or there may be no way to eliminate the inclinations at all. Nonetheless, that they are disordered can be intellectually grasped.

Read the entire “analysis” by Dr. Mirus online at Catholic Culture’s website.

Feel free to contact Dr. Mirus with your thoughts at http://www.catholicculture.org/contact/.

6 responses to this post.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by queerfaithnews and queerfaithnews, queerfaithnews. queerfaithnews said: @JeffMirus argues that homosexuality is a “deficiencies, defects and disorders?" http://bit.ly/9wREzO — #gay #catholic #glbt #equality […]

    Reply

  2. Whew, this once got you pissed. 🙂

    I suppose that if one considers heterosexuality to be the intended normality, then at the very least homosexuality is abnormal.

    And if God intended for humans to live within a certain ordered environment: where heterosexual intercourse is the ONLY natural method of reproduction (unless one is a bacteria or something), then it would makes sense that homosexuality is “disordered” if only from a very practical sense of the word. Homosexuals are incapable of propogating unless they undertake drastic measures that still involve the reproductive organs of someone of the opposite sex. On that same note, just from an evolutionary perspective, homosexuality could be considered a “defect.”

    I’m not so sure about this “deficiency” thing, though. I mean, homosexuals are deficient in sexual interest in those of the opposite sex, but they do have sexual interest. I think deficiency was a very odd choice of words for this fellow to use.

    He does, in a much more complicated manner by referring to Divine order, stress the same point I was making last week: God wants what is BEST for us. And what is best is not always what we think we want or what makes us most comfortable and “happy.” So, if what is best is celibacy, and if the next best is marriage with someone of the opposite sex who shares the same faith that you do…well, homosexual relationships are a far cry from what is BEST.

    And I don’t think God has ever meant for us to settle.

    Best regards,

    Natassia

    Reply

    • Natassia,

      Thanks for your comment. Dr. Mirus did upset me because I think he fell into the “name-calling” propaganda that overwhelms discussions regarding gay and lesbian issues as viewed by the “right” (I use that word loosely).

      I am not going to reiterate my post, because I think that I provided ample arguments regarding my perspective, however, you fourth paragraph where you discuss what God wants, I feel compelled to ask — how do you know that God doesn’t want me to be a happy, partnered gay man? How do you know that God doesn’t want me to adopt children one day with my partner? How are you so sure that celibacy is where God is calling gay people?

      Let me make a few points that I don’t think I have made to date:

      1. I was born gay.
      2. I did not choose to be gay.
      3. I have come to respect who God has created me to be.
      4. We are all prophet, priests and kings. I believe that gay people play an important prophetic role in spreading a message of love for all of God’s creation.

      In charity,
      QfN

      Reply

      • Your original criticism of the article just seemed a little…I don’t know…tangential? I’m not sure if that is the word I’m looking for, but instead of diving into the deep stuff, you reacted to his article with emotion because of his choice of words and a definite bitterness because you do not believe you are treated equally in this country.

        You approach homosexuality from an entirely different perspective than Dr. Mirus. You have certain preconceived notions, (and he does as well), and certain assumptions that you each hold to be true. Your moral foundation is completely different from that of Dr. Mirus, so of course you are going to interpret things differently, especially when it comes to sexuality because you believe you were born gay.

        And let me make a few points about myself 😉 :

        1. I was born a female. I wasn’t born with sexual desire. I don’t know if I was born heterosexual. I do know that when puberty hit, I sought my complement and my opposite: a male.

        2. I did not choose what my body was attracted to, but I can tell you that I have experienced certain abnormal urges while an older teenager and into my early twenties. I saw them for what they were and moved on. I did not feel it necessary to dwell on them, act upon them, or seek some sort of justification for them. So, if there are times when I say “I know how you feel” I may very well be telling the truth. 🙂

        3. I have a respect for my body as a temple for the Holy Spirit and a beloved child of God. But I don’t have a respect for the wicked inclinations of my heart or the innumerable flaws in my character.

        4. We are all sheep in need of a shepherd.

        God bless,

        Natassia

  3. Darn, I have to type my whole comment out again. I swear, WordPress really sucks sometimes.

    Your criticism of Dr. Mirus seemed rather tangential. (I think that’s the word I want to use.) Not only did you react emotionally to his choice of words, but it was easy to detect your bitterness in your responses to his assertions. Yes, we know you’re angry that you don’t believe you are treated like you should be in this country, but that really doesn’t deal with the merits of Dr. Mirus’ arguments.

    The problem, of course, is the fact that the two of you approach homosexuality from opposite sides of the spectrum (and I don’t mean the political one). You have certain preconceived notions about homosexuality (as I am sure he does as well), and you both hold certain assumptions that you believe to be true but which differ from one another greatly. If this man is writing for a Catholic magazine, then it is very likely that he is at least a Christian, if not a Catholic. There is a very good chance that if he is not a Catholic, then he adheres to the sola scriptura doctrine when it comes to theological interpretations. Either way, Catholic or Protestant, he’s probably going to believe that homosexual behavior is a sin based on the Christian scriptures. You don’t hold the same beliefs about the scriptures and doctrines of Christianity that Dr. Mirus does.

    So, when approaching such a thing as whether or not homosexuality is normal or moral, you two stand on completely different foundations and speak a completely different language.

    🙂

    And I want to offer some points about myself as well:

    1. I was born a female. I was not born with sexual desire. When I hit puberty, I felt a need to seek out my complement and opposite: a male.

    2. I do not “choose” who or what my body is attracted to. I do choose who I love. And I do choose what sort of things I will engage in. And there was a time (late teens-early twenties) where I experienced abnormal urges. I saw them for what they were. I chose not to act on them. I did not feel a need to justify them. And I felt it pointless to explore them further. Very quickly they went away, especially when I stopped spending time in certain crowds.

    3. I respect my body as a temple for the Holy Spirit, and I respect myself as a beloved child of God. But I hold no respect for the wickedness of my heart or the innumerable flaws in my character. I am a work-in-progress.

    4. We are all sheep in need of a Shepherd, subjects in need of a King, souls in need of a Savior.

    Take care.

    Reply

  4. Ah, there, it posted.

    Stupid WordPress.

    Well, pick the one you like best. I think the second was better. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment